



Caribbean Organisation of Tax Administrators (COTA)

MISSION STATEMENT:

"The mission of the Caribbean
Organization of Tax Administrators
(COTA) is to promote regional tax
cooperation and harmonization while
empowering its Members towards
achieving higher levels of efficiency and
effectiveness in the administration of
their tax systems"

FOUNDING DATE: 1972

SECRETARIAT LOCATION:

Georgetown, Guyana

TYPES OF MEMBERSHIP:

Ordinary and associate

membership only

OFFICIAL LANGUAGES:

English

BASIS OF MEMBERSHIP:

National Tax Administration Agencies of Member States and Associate Members of the

Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

MEMBERS:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda,
Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda,
British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands,
Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti,
Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Kitt
and Nevis, St. Vincent and The
Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and
Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands; St
Maarten (Associate Member)

GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE:

The COTA governance structure consists of a General Assembly and an Executive Council. The General Assembly, which includes representatives of all Member States, meets biennially to elect the President and the Executive Council and review the organisation's Annual Report and Work Programme. The Executive Council (comprising a President and five other Members) serves Standing Advisorv Committee Administration to the Caribbean Community. The Executive Council meets biannually, provides oversight of the COTA Work Programme, and convenes the General Assembly and Technical Conference. The COTA Work Programme is executed under the auspices of the CARICOM Secretariat through the COTA Executive Secretary, who advises the Secretary General of the Caribbean Community on Tax Administration.







