



Association of Tax Authorities of Islamic Countries (ATAIC)

MISSION STATEMENT:

"The mission of the Association is to facilitate the improvement of tax administration and promote Sharia Taxation with particular reference to Zakat within Islamic countries, to meet the challenges/changes rapidly taking place in the world."

FOUNDING DATE: 15th October 2003

SECRETARIAT LOCATION:

Khartoum, Sudan

TYPES OF MEMBERSHIP:

Full membership, associate membership, observers, guests

OFFICIAL LANGUAGES:

Arabic, English,

French

BASIS OF MEMBERSHIP:

Islamic Religion

MEMBERS:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Brunei, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Guyana, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritania, Marocco, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE:

Currently, the Permanent Secretariat of ATAIC performs all key executive administrative activities and is comprised of the General Secretary and other staff that are appointed by the SG. The heads of delegation meeting shall be considered as ATAIC supreme body and the general assembly, composed from a high rank employee as a representative of full or associate member appointed from his tax administrations, the HDMs Meeting supervises all ATAIC activities, appoint the secretary-general, as well as approving the work programmes and corresponding budgets. Secretariat is divided into three sections; the programs section is responsible for conferences, seminars, workshops and training courses, while the section of information, studies and research focus on knowledge and information sharing, the operations section is in charge of the financial and administrative affairs, protocol, public relations, and general coordination.







